LGA-1366 or LGA-1156???

iharvey92

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2009
So, I have been diligently attempting to create a build for an i7 processor, but have recently been shown a possible error I have made: the difference in socket types. I am very new to computer hardware, and this would be my first build. I do a lot of video editing, so i need it to be powerful. I was ready to make a purchase, when I was told that the LGA-1156 socket creates a bottle-neck, which makes using a processor with a LGA-1366 socket better performance-wise.

Is this true? And can you give me any insight on this?

Also, I looked up some benchmarks between the i7 920 and 860, and it appears that they are nearly the same (besides power consumption, of course).

Am I missing something here, or are they nearly the same performance-wise?

Thanks in advance!

nope. you are correct. The 1156 and 1366 core i7 cpus perform the same. Even in dual graphics card set up (where on the 1156 run the 2 16x pci-e slots at 8x and the 1366 runs both slots at 16x) runs practically the same with no noticeable performance difference.

So you don't have to worry about the 2 different socket type performance. All you need to do is make sure you have the right socket cpu with a motherboard with the same socket.

So just get the one that will job done.

iharvey92

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2009
Thank you, but just to clarify:

On Intel's site, the 920 has a bus speed of 4.8 GT/s QPI, while the 860 has a bus speed of 2.5 GT/s DMI. The first thing I notice is the difference of 2.3 GT/s between them. The second thing I notice is that one is QPI and the other is DMI.

So, does this have no effect on processor intensive activities?

And if so, why include it as a specification?

Well here a quote from another thread that may clear that up, http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/266032-28-tomshardware

"Anonymous wrote :

200 Mhz difference doesn't matter. Has anyone looked at the stats on Intels website for the 920 vs 860?