Sign in with
Your question

Cooling my rig, leaning towards water cooling...

Tags:
  • Water Cooling
  • Cooling
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
Anonymous
a b K Overclocking
July 18, 2011 7:10:58 PM

Hi, I'm kind of puzzled about what kind of cooling to get for my newly bought rig. I'm running:

NZXT Phantom cabinet
MSI P67A-G45 (LGA 1155 socket)
Intel Core i7 2600K (3,6 GHz)

Idle temperatures on all cores (unclocked) are around 40, load is about 67 (computer has been on for 8 hours, warm room, damn summer). This is still with the stock CPU cooler though.

I have looked at two different coolers:
Thermalright Archon (http://www.thermalright.com/products/?act=data&id=172&c...)
XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 (http://www.frozencpu.com/products/11743/ex-wat-159/XSPC...)

I am still a complete novice and won’t be able to assemble a water cooling kit that isn’t already pre-assembled, I am able to mount a fan and an air cooler, which I have done before. I’m currently sitting on an Arctic Cooling Freezer Rev.2 from my old computer, but I’m quite sure that it won’t cut it.

What would you recommend? Please consider that I am a novice and that the XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 is probably the most I’d pay, so any cooler that is priced higher than that, is likely a no-go. The cooler has to be able to keep it cool if I chose to OC it to 4,2 GHz (OC Genie II, yay).

More about : cooling rig leaning water cooling

Anonymous
a b K Overclocking
July 18, 2011 8:42:10 PM

I have and that's exactly why I was thinking about going with that one.

Is it powerful enough? Will it even fit my cabinet? I've looked a lot of places and found a lot of people actually asking if it fits the NZXT Phantom, but there has been no one to answer the question.
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
July 19, 2011 5:09:16 PM

I've read a few articles saying that a 3x120 radiator will fit in the Phantom.