OCed 955BE became unstable..now to fix it! :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaitheus

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009
Well recently my OCed 955BE @ 3.8GHz became unstable for some unknown reason, I'm no expert on OCing and I try to OC as safely as I can (no voltage increases unless really needed). My 955 was OCed at 3.8GHz for over 5 months stable and now if I try to keep it at 3.8GHz it'll give me a BSOD, at 1st I thought it was the ram so I took them out, reseated them and ran memtest for a full 9 passes with no errors, even after that I ended up still getting a BSOD on boot up so I thought well sht maby its the timings on the 1 Kingston stick causing it. So I took that out and still got a BSOD on boot so now I'm thinking its the PSU failing since its about 6 years old now so I switched that out with a newer 750Watt from Antec and I still got the BSOD at boot, now I'm stuck with 2 options that I know of, 1 its the mobo failing (that would piss me off...) or 2 I need to increase the Vcore voltage a bit to keep it stable, but I just don't like the idea of increasing the Vcore >.< lols.

Right now the systems been stable for just over a week at 3.6GHz which I suppose is ok atm if I had to stay at that speed but not knowing why I cant keep a stable 3.8GHz is annoying me since I have no idea what caused it.

Note that this is a fresh install of Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

System Spec's

Phenom II X4 955BE @ 3.6GHz (stable atm)
Zamlan CNPS10X Perform CPU cooler 2 120mm fans (push/pull)
4GB G.Skill DDR2 800MHz
MSI 790XT-G45 mobo
GigaByte HD4890OC
Seagate 750GB SATA HDD
Antec 750Watt Earthwatts PSU
Xigmatek Utgard Window Sided case
6 120mm case fans (8 counting the CPU cooler)

An for those that really think its heat or an airflow issue look at my case here... :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9s6BageTBI Note that this video was done before my CPU became unstable at 3.8GHz.

kaitheus

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009