Fans spin up, not much else

agroupofletters

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2009
This is my first time building a computer and obviously i've run into some problems.

I have a brand new mobo, cpu (stock intel heatsink and fan), ram, PS and am using a less than 1 year old 8600gt graphics card, and less than 3 month old wd hard drive.

I managed to put everything together in what i thought was the right way but then when i went to power it on the fans spun for about 12 seconds, all the lights on the case lit up, so did the light on my optical drive and i was able to open and close the tray, but then it just shut off, and a few seconds went by then it would do the same thing over and over until i shut off the power supply. I' tried removing the cpu and heat sink and when i did that the computer stayed on but i didn't get any output on my monitor. I know it's probably a very stupid question but does a computer still post without a processor? i figured id get some type of bios screen. So now i'm thinking that both my processor and video card are bad. Can anyone with some experience give me some advice?

agroupofletters

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2009
This is my first time building a computer and obviously i've run into some problems.

I have a brand new mobo, cpu (stock intel heatsink and fan), ram, PS and am using a less than 1 year old 8600gt graphics card, and less than 3 month old wd hard drive.