Big questions on power reqs, psu, and compatibility

jcpwn3r

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2009
I am a complete newbie at building PCs but I've been doing a TON of reading and I have finally got down my basic plan

Colorful (xfx's manufacturer) Nvidia 780i 3 way SLI motherboard
Intel Core 2 duo e8400 3.0ghz
XFX gtx 250 1gb
Hitachi 500gb HD 7200rpm
some POS 20X dvd reader/writer
1 stick 2gb kingston 240pin ddr2
thermaltake m5 case along with several fans
and the PSU i am undecided on. I am between these 3

I would like to add a second card in the future

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341019
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009

Q1: am leaning towards the OCZ because it is the cheapest and i want to save as much money as I can.

But I am looking the the following to corsairs because of their reputation, but of course it is 40-60 bucks more.
which would you recomend?

Q2: will 700w be sufficient to run 2 gtx250s in sli with a decent amout of room, or even run 2 gtx260s if i decide to do a major overhaul in the future

Q3: would it be worth it to get a gtx260 instead of the 250?

Q4: is my case big enough to hold everything alright and will bigger cards be able to fit into it?

Q5: is there anything in my setup that needs addressing. i plan to run windows home premium 32 bit on a 1680x 1050 monitor, maybe even a lower res one.

thanks for responses

It's a bad plan for saving money. We don't much like Nvidia chipset motherboards around here.

I think given your budget range you would be better off with an X3 720, 790GX board, 4GB RAM, and a 4850.

jcpwn3r

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2009