Sign in with
Your question

Advice for first Custom PC

Last response: in Systems
July 6, 2009 3:54:06 PM

I have never made my own computer before and I don't know a lot about hardware, but I'll try to be as accurate as I can with what I want.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: August 09, I head back to school at the end of the month so I would like to get this bought and assembled by then.

BUDGET RANGE: Absolute maximum is $1500, not necessarily including the monitor, but if it is possible I'd like it all to be under that

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Internet surfing, music/video, gaming, documents/powerpoints - subject to change at school :p 

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I have a mouse and speakers and I don't mind buying a monitor separately, unless that's a problem when custom building

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: since this is my first time I really have no idea, sorry

PARTS PREFERENCES: Again I don't know much about this either, I'd just like everything to be reliable (and a side question here: how does warranty work for parts in custom PC's?)

OVERCLOCKING: I'm still not sure I fully understand what this is, but if anyone thinks I'll need let me know

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I'd like to get 1920x1200, I prefer a large screen with good resolution

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Overall I want a computer that has a lot of space and is fast enough to handle it all, and for it to look good while doing it. I don't game too too much, but when I do I want it to run smoothly and look as good as it can. Mostly what has kept me from gaming a lot is my laptop, which is currently on its last legs and dying fast. I do have a 1TB external so space isn't too much of an issue, but I'd like to keep my music on the computer (and I have a lot of it). I like to have a lot of things open at once, including games, so having everything run smoothly is important. Any advice on monitors will be good too. I plan to have this professionally assembled so no worries on how complex this may be.