OCing my Sapphire 6870 Vapor-X help

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Overclocking
  • Sapphire
Last response: in Overclocking
July 20, 2011 2:51:37 AM

Hi all!

I am new to overclocking, and I am looking for some quick advice to overclock my HD 6870 Vapor X edition. I am currently using Sapphire TRIXX software and my questions is: How do I know if I have a stable overclock? Aside from the obvious crashes, is there a stress testing program I can run, and is there a specific fan speed/temperature that would make the OC stable?

Stock settings:
Core clock is at 900
Memory clock is at 1050
Voltage: 1188

Thanks in advance :D 

*btw my resolution is 1920 x 1080

More about : ocing sapphire 6870 vapor

a b K Overclocking
a b U Graphics card
July 20, 2011 1:58:15 PM

The newer ATI/AMD cards are a bit different than the old ones. They have "error correction" built into them, so you probably won't see artifacts like the old days. What happens when not stable is the card will appear to be losing performance as resources go to correcting the errors. That doesn't mean you won't crash, it just means you might not see anything irregular.

Your best bet is to keep an eye on FPS and make sure your not going backwards as you push you overclock forward. Obviously a frozen screen or a complete crash will tell you something.

With temperatures the general rule of thumb is to keep them under 80c if all possible. The fan speed doesn't matter as long as temps are good and the noise isn't bothering you.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
July 20, 2011 2:53:45 PM

That's good to know. Does the 5k series have that tech implemented or you need to check for artifact and such?
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
a b U Graphics card
July 20, 2011 3:47:29 PM