First time builder. Comment on i7 rig?

alan342

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2009
First post, so I hope I'm going about this in the right way.

Recently I've been thinking a lot about getting a new computer. The quest started at HP.com, I was going to customize their i7 desktop and call it a day, then I was introduced to cyberpowerpc. I spent the next day or two going through options and making up my mind, and I was all set to go until I was introduced to newegg and building my own system. Totally opened my eyes, and that pretty much brings everyone up to speed.

I've been researching like a madman, hunting for deals, learning what terms mean and what parts do. I think I've finally found the perfect combination of stuff that satisfies me.. BUT, in the end I'm still a newbie and a first time builder, and that's why I'm here to ask some experts and veterans. First the rig, and then a few questions about components and compatibility.

Cpu: i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz
Cooler: XIGMATEK Dark Knight
Mobo: EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX X58 SLI LE Intel Motherboard
Ram: OCZ XMP ready 6GB ddr3 1600
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Vid card: EVGA 896-P3-1170-AR GeForce GTX 275 896MB 448-bit DDR3
Case: Cooler Master HAF 922
PSU: COOLER MASTER RS-700-AMBA-D3 700W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Certified 80 PLUS Certified Modular
Drive: LITE-ON Black 6X Blu-Ray DVD ROM & 16X DVD±R DVD Burner SATA Model iHES106-29 - OEM
Tuner: ASUS My Cinema-PHC3-100/NAQ/FM/AV/RC TV Tuner Card PCI Interface
+ Arctic Silver 5 thermal compound

Primarily this computer will be used as an entertainment hub. Lots of tv, videos, DVR functionality, blu-ray output to a 42" 1080p Panasonic. Lots of web browsing, music, and general multitasking. I also want it to be able to handle current games without slowdown, though I'm not overly concerned about running them at max settings.

My main questions are:

First of all, does my build get the job done efficiently?