Sign in with
Your question

Help Overclocking my AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+

Last response: in Overclocking
July 22, 2011 5:30:28 AM

Hello, i'm new to overclocking, and was referred here by a friend for some help on this matter..

I don't want to go out and buy a new CPU, but I want to overclock it not to the extreme, but enough for it to stay cool, and also get up to the 2.8ghz-3.2ghz.

Any idea's on how much I should OC, and maybe a software too?

Mobo:
Manufacturer MICRO-STAR INTERANTIONAL CO.,LTD
Model MS-7376
Version 1.0
Chipset Vendor AMD
Chipset Model 790FX
Chipset Revision 00
Southbridge Vendor ATI
Southbridge Model SB600
Southbridge Revision 00
- platinum edition

This is what i get from speccy:
Processor:

Cores 2
Threads 2
Name AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
Code Name Windsor
Package Socket AM2 (940)
Technology 90nm
Specification AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
Family F
Extended Family F
Model 3
Extended Model 43
Stepping 2
Revision JH-F2
Instructions MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, AMD 64
Bus Speed 200.0 MHz
Rated Bus Speed 1000.1 MHz
Stock Core Speed 2600 MHz
Stock Bus Speed 200 MHz
Average Temperature 36-44 °C

Vid card: 512MB GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+ (EVGA) 64 °C
HDD: 147GB 10k RPM Western Digital WDC WD1500AHFD-00RAR5 ATA Device (SATA)

I got a 650watt Power supply
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
July 22, 2011 6:28:14 PM

You should invest in an aftermarket CPU cooler. Check out www.newegg.com or www.frozencpu.com for coolers. As for the OC process itself, start by disabling the Cool n' Quiet feature in your BIOS.

While still in your BIOS, find your way to the CPU clock settings. From here, you'll want to increase your FSB by 5, then save and exit. See if you can get into Windows. If you can, then go back into your BIOS and increase the FSB by 5 again. Do this until you cannot load Windows.