Update jmicron add on card bios

hi there,

i recently bought an ultra pci-e x1 add on raid card (jmicron jmb363 raid card). the bios is 1.06.51. i want to flash the latest bios (1.07.00) but for the life of me i can't figure out how. i am a noob to flashing option rom bios. can anyone help me? what are the instructions to flash an add on card?

p.s. i discovered a program called free dos. it actually lets me get into the flash update utility (1.19) i got from jmicron website, but i am truly a dumb idiot when it comes to dos syntax. please help me!
10 answers Last reply
More about update jmicron card bios
  1. It looks as if you will need the "rom update tool" and the newest jmb363_1.07 bios.

ftp://driver.jmicron.com.tw/SATA_Controller/Option_ROM/

Be sure you have the newest drivers installed first.

ftp://driver.jmicron.com.tw/SATA_Controller/Windows/
  2. uh huh, i do have the latest driver and the update tool. i just can't seem to figure out how to do the process. i use a utility called freedos, it gets me to the dos program to update, but then i dont know what to do next. i dont know the syntax for dos or anything. could you help me?
  3. You don't need DOS. Just open a command prompt and run the 36xupd.exe file. Its in the zip file of the first link I have posted above.

The bottom link I have above is to a zip file. There is a readme.txt file in there on how to use it.
  4. darkmillennium said:
    uh huh, i do have the latest driver and the update tool. i just can't seem to figure out how to do the process. i use a utility called freedos, it gets me to the dos program to update, but then i dont know what to do next. i dont know the syntax for dos or anything. could you help me?

In DOS just write

36xupd /w filename.bin

and press enter
  5. And if you are running Win7 64 bit? Then what?
  6. It shouldnt matter if you are running Win 7 64 bit when you are trying to flash your jmicron 363.