Should I update my BIOS?

uhoh2

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2009
Hello. I hope this is the right place to post this. I'm somewhat new to building computers, so please take that into consideration while reading. I have built a PC with the following components:

Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Motherboard
2-2gb Crucial RAM
Seagate Barracuda 500gb Sata hard drive
Phillips sata Dvd-r drive
AMD phenom II X4 810 processor

Initially I had windows xp installed onto an IDE hard drive, and have recently upgraded to Windows 7 32bit which I put on a brand new sata HD. The computer has some issues. #1 is that at idle, with no programs running cpu usage fluctuates between 9 and 18%. While watching one youtube video in Firefox, that percentage jumps to about 60%. As I stated earlier, I'm a novice pc builder, but that strikes me as odd. In the task manager, it's recognizing the 4 cores.

I'm thinking that I have either a driver issue, or a motherboard BIOS issue. Is it common to get BIOS updates when upgrading operating systems? Or are the problems I listed 'normal' for the equipment I have?

roonj

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2009
While it should never be painfull to add the most current bios I doubt thats responsible for what your seeing. At 9-18% the cpu/system is not idle in this opinion. You have multiple settings in bios for power control and these will vary by the version of bios and or the update.
Suggestion is to set windows 7 power scheme to balanced initially. Enable all power settings in bios, C1E, awaymode, coolnquiet,etc... as mentioned these will change with bios version. Make sure drivers load for all such features then use taskmgr to see if useage drops to 0-2%. If not look at what is running to see if you can recognize any of it.

A BIOS update you do not need, unless you are having a hardware compatibility issue somewhere, and the update was specifically written to address the exact issue you are having. Other than that, leave your BIOS alone.