Building my first PC(need help)

Upgrade30

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2009
Hello, this is my first time posting to this website and my first time building a pc. I'm not really sure which thread this should go under but here goes. I've learned alot from this book i've been reading but its pretty outdated. I want to try and get different opinions so building this doesn't turn into a disaster. All I have right now is the case and the psu but I've decided which cpu I want. I also have an idea on the motherboard but i'm not sold on it yet. I have it listed but I don't have all the specs on it right now. The computer i'm building is mainly for gaming and internet surfing but I'm trying to make it budget safe with plenty of room for upgrades. Any advice/suggestion/recommendation/comment/help would be greatly appreciated.

Case:
Midtower ATX Case(Black)
Steel
2 front mounted USB ports
Mic in
Headphone in
7 expansion slots
4 5.25" external drive bays
2 3.5" external drive bays
4 3.5" internal drive bays

PSU:
Okia 450W psu

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.7 GHz
FSB 2000 MHZ HT

Motherboard:
Asus M3A78
AM2
AMD 770
ATX form factor

RAM:
As for RAM, I'm planning on getting 2-3GB. I've heard that getting a brand name Module is better than getting the standard. Is there any brand name RAM thats compatible that you would recommend?

HD:
Is there anything important I should be looking at when I look for a HD besides size and rpm. Is there any recommendations on which HD would suit my system?

Network Card:
I need to find a network card that allows for wireless connectivity through a D-Link Wireless Router.

Video/Graphics Card:
I don't need a beast graphics card since most of the games I'll be playing are MMO games. It would be cool to find a graphics card that allows for Dual Monitors.

Sound Card:
I'm looking for a sound card that supports 5.0 or 5.1 that would be compatible with my motherboard/cpu combo

TV Tuner Card: