Maximus Gene III USB issues

josh_s

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2010
I'm no expert at building. But I made myself a nice rig for christmas.
Everything went smoothly not a hint of an issue except for the recent discovery of some usb problems. :heink:

OS: Windows 7 64-bit Up to date & Tried 'Fresh Install'
CPU: Intel i5 750
Mobo: Maximus Gene III
RAM: 8 gigs Patriot Viper 5 Series
HD: WD Cavair Black 500g & Seagate 350g
Video: evga nVidia 250 GTS
Disk: LG DVD/CD RW
Power:Corsair HX650w

I can't seem to be able to use any of the usb ports properly. It detects hardware and installs the drivers as normal for generic devices like portable hard drives etc.
But anything too specific or such it fails to recognize and install drivers for.

Specifically I'm trying to install a USB Network Adapter which I've had no problem installing in the past for the same OS on different machines.
It recognizes the device and tries to install the driver but fails. But in case it might be an OS issue so I tried a reformat and clean install. No difference.

Just as another test I tried plugging in a "USB Xbox 360 Wireless controller receiver" it fails to install the driver as well.
Also when I look at the device manager properties. It recognizes device names and such but no manufacturer, dates, etc. details.

I've also tried it with just fresh OS Install with no hardware driver installation then with Intel chipset drivers installed and the whole suite of drivers that came with the mobo.
Problem still persists. Also manually installing the drivers does not work as well. It just loops the driver installation.

Also I can't shut down until the unrecognized or failed driver devices are removed from the usb ports otherwise it will just loop the shutting down screen as well.
So basically it seems like the USB ports are not functioning properly like they are missing controllers or drivers themselves?