Sign in with
Your question

What is the importance of multiple hard drives?

Last response: in Storage
April 5, 2011 11:05:47 PM

This is my first build, and I just don't understand. Why do some people have multiple hard drives in their rigs? I get that they might have needed more space, but I am talking about having a seperate boot drive, a drive for games, etc...
If anyone can explain this, it would be a big help. Thanks.
April 5, 2011 11:14:58 PM

It all depends on what you use your computer for. In my case, my rig is primarily for gaming, which needs speed, and needs lots of room as games are getting bigger. I have a Solid state drive with just windows on it, since the speeds on SSD's are very quick, but they are pricey for their size so windows applications/start up are very fast. For all my games, and whatever else i install, i have 2 hard disk drives in RAID 0 wich is faster than one HDD, but not quite as fast as a SDD. The RAID 0 can double the read/write speeds of the HDD since it splits the task at hand over two hard drives simultaneously.

But, thats just me. the average internet jockey doesnt need all that. a simple 250 gig hard drive is more than enough for some. what are you gonna be promalrily doing whith your new rig?
m
l
a c 415 G Storage
April 5, 2011 11:33:52 PM

It's pretty common to place the OS on a separate hard drive from your data. There's basically a few reasons to do this:

1) The OS generally has to be managed as a monolithic unit, so you make image backups of the OS as opposed to making file backups of the data drive. You can deal with this using partitions on a single physical drive, but then you have to guess at the ideal partition size to choose.