apollyon0810

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2009
Hey all,

I'm brand new to Tom's Hardware, but I've relied on this site for a long time and I'd like to do a little contributing.

I just ordered all the parts to build a brand-spanking-new gaming rig with a uATX formfactor. Everything from start to finish will be chronicaled in this post/forum. Just for a taste of what's to come, let me list the build.

IMPORTANT STUFF:

Antec Mini P180 uATX Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129041

ASUS Rampage II GENE Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131371

12GB (6 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3 - Triple Channel
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145224

Intel Core i7 975 Extreme Edition
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115212

EVGA GeForce GTX 295 CO-OP Edition (Single PCB)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130504

PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910W PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703022

NOT SO IMPORTANT STUFF:

Razer mouse and keyboard - Lycosa & Lachis (sp?)
Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 CPU Cooler
Plextor Blu-ray Drive
Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD (Upgrade soon?)

Weew! I think most people would be hard pressed to argue that's a lot of power for a [EDIT] SMALLER [/EDIT]form factor computer. Everything was ordered two days ago, and it will probably be another week and a half before I receive everything. I'm living in Baghdad right now, so that hinders shipping speeds.

I'll review everything to the best of my ability, and take a LOT of pictures of all fit and finish.

And most importantly, let me know what you guys think! I'm a little worried about the CPU cooler fitting in that case.

apollyon0810

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2009

Why does a dog lick it's own balls? Because it can :) That's the main reason behind this build, though I'm not disagreeing with you one bit.

apollyon0810

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2009