Sign in with
Your question

Do high(er) end MoBos really make a difference when OC'ing?

Last response: in Overclocking
July 28, 2011 9:25:54 PM

When looking for a Motherboard for my future Core i7-2600K, I had originally planned on just buying a basic $120 MSI P67A-G45, but am now having second thoughts about buying something so basic. I am brand new to the art of Overclocking, and this will be my first experience. I have seen that many people have been able to OC the 2600K to 5.2Ghz, and I would like to get as close to that as possible (at least 5Ghz). I know that the most important component is obviously the heatsink, and as such I will be asking a few questions about them in the appropriate section. What I am interested in right now is how a high(er) or low(er) end Motherboard will affect sustained overclocking. How much of a difference will it make? How high must I go to get the kind of performance I am demanding?
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
July 28, 2011 9:28:43 PM

For sure the MOBO is the master of the OC...So yes, it does matter...buy the best MOBO you can get if you want a nice smooth and stable OC experience..All of the components of the PC factor into the OC...PSU buy the best you can afford at least 80+ cert....The MOBO is the same I would opt for a Z68 board, some 1600 MHz RAM, a nice 500+ watt 80+ cert PSU, vid card of your choice, oh and get you an aftermarket HSF if your going for 5 GHz...To answer your question OC stability relies on all of the PC parts to play nicely together...MOBO's are no exception as a "basic" MOBO will not give you enough features in BIOS to maintain your OC..especially when your going for 5 GHz and above
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
July 29, 2011 12:22:19 PM