'PhotoShop' system budget?

Charlie46227

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: by end of July
BUDGET RANGE: < $750 (if possible)
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: photo manipulation.
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: no preference
PARTS PREFERENCES: no preference
OVERCLOCKING: Maybe
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe
MONITOR RESOLUTION: 'old' eyes but need decent monitor for photo work.
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Need best value, but not sure if budget is at all realistic. Basically, I'm tired of Photoshop hanging up when trying to correct 100 MB images or when resizing images. Currently I must keep the photo size too low and of course that drastically affects my results. I don't need latest greatest, as this is just a hobby, but a serious hobby at that. Total noob at building a system, but have wanted to for years. Most I've ever done is swap out memory, changed video cards... you know, the easy stuff. TIA for any suggestions.

Helloworld_98

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
$750 on a photoshop build?

up it to $1200 and you can get a nice i7 build with 12GB of ram. but that would be without the monitor so add an extra $200 for a monitor.

It would be a far higher price but you'd get a nice 24" monitor and it would perform very well in photoshop.

Charlie46227

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005
Monitor not included , ok. Having said that, I'm not so much looking for top performance, just a build that would not necessitate me leaving the desk while it crunches away. PS has been around for years, so there has to be a value system build that utilizes something other than i7, no? Not meaning to be argumentative, just trying to see get by.

G

basically, a $750 rig isn't going to get you much but it sounds like it will be better than what you have now. don't worry about a fancy graphics card, spend your money on psu and ram.

Charlie46227

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2005