Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Good Overclocking CPU Temps...

Last response: in Overclocking
July 29, 2011 3:16:56 AM

Hi,

I'm new to overclocking and I want to know what are safe overclocking temperatures for both idle and load. I am using Corsair H50 Liquid Cooling System + AMD Phenom X4 955 3.2 GHZ (STOCK). I want to overclock from 3.2 GHZ to eventually 4.0 GHZ. So far I overclocked to 3.5 GHZ and the temps are...IDLE: ~36-39C....LOAD: ~50-52C.
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
July 29, 2011 3:34:14 AM

Maximum temp on that CPU is 62c...My H50 set-up with two 120mm fans push/pull..at 4.0 GHz@1.475v reached 51c @ 100 % load...If you don't have an extra fan I would expect to see with the above settings at 100% to be around 56c-59c...BTW.. On the H50 and H70 coolers which mount the same....make sure that all of the screws are tight and that the pump housing is turned into the retention plate properly
m
l
a b à CPUs
July 29, 2011 3:38:59 AM

Take a look at this thread. Though the article explains without liquid cooling, you can still definitely use it as a guideline.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
July 29, 2011 3:51:44 AM

What brings such a decorated character to this neck of the woods...@calmstateofmind

What no CCIE cert.? J/K yanking your chain.....

That article is bogus...my 965 has never crashed due to a temp of 59c...hell I have seen 81c due to my H60 pump not being properly connected..didn't crash...I just shut her down let it cool off a bit then plugged the pump in...all is fine....Granted temps will crash you out and mess up your equipment...That article holds no water
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
July 29, 2011 3:52:43 AM

I bet thay had it set in HW monitor in BIOS to shutdown at that temp...or something hell every CPU I have encountered which is quite a few have no problem operating at 60-62c contiuosly due my friends all wanting to put their computers in the stupid little enclosed computer desk
m
l
a b à CPUs