Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Sys File Repair

Last response: in Windows XP
December 20, 2011 3:54:43 AM

Hi- I need to repair my System Files. I am running XP Pro SP3 x86. What I am trying to do is make a bootable CD from my Genuine Windows XP Pro SP2 disk and slipstream SP3 to it, so I can run the Repair. I have never done this before, and I am with the understanding that in order to accomplish the task there must be an i386 folder in C:\. Here is what is confusing me- I do not have said folder directly in C:\, but it is contained in a folder named '403971ec4f6071759b'. This folder has 2 files: amd64 and i386, and they both contain the identical data. I do not know how this happened.
Here is an example of the structure: C:\403971ec4f6071759b\amd64 and C:\403971ec4f6071759b\i386.
What I need to end up with is: C:\i386 So, my thinking is to delete the '403971ec4f6071759b' and the 'amd64', I could conceivably wind up with C:\i386.
To be honest, I am not sure that the data within the i386 file is what is supposed to be there.
All of this has happened as a result of an attack, and I noticed that something was definitely wrong via Event Viewer and general performance.
Could I please get some advice on this matter?
Thank you, and Merry Christmas!
tim

More about : sys file repair

December 20, 2011 4:51:56 AM

run sfc /scannow after inserting windows xp sp3 cd if you are running on sp3.
December 20, 2011 5:25:47 AM

No can do...yet!...My Genuine XP Pro hologram disk is SP2. I have added SP3 via the SP3 disk that my vendor provided. Also provided is a disk entitled XP Pro Backup Media w/SP3. I don't know if this disk is suitable to run sfc /scannow. So, I had planned on making a disk with my SP2 hologram disk and slipstream SP3 to it. I have been told that I cannot run sfc /scannow with the hologram because the machine has been upgraded to SP3. Does this make sense? As far as the slipstream op is concerned, I don't have C:\i386. Instead, I have C:\40397ec4f6071759b.