Advice needed to upgrade a 2yr old system.

trinityseven

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2009
Hi everyone,

I'm currently seeking some advice in order to upgrade my current system which is around 2 years old. I mainly use it for gaming, and I prefer to be able to have the settings of the games up high, if not maximum, and have it all running smoothly.

My current specs are:

Core 2 Duo E6600
Gigabyte 965P-DS31S3
Silverstone 850W powersupply
4 gig G.Skill ram, DDR2 800
Gainward 8800GTX pci-e 768mb

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Soon, within the next month.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, currently playing EQ2 and Sims 3

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I'm open to any suggestions

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I'm in Australia, no preference.

PARTS PREFERENCES: No specific preferences at the moment.

OVERCLOCKING: I'm not technically minded so wouldn't be overclocking the stuff myself.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Current maximum is 1650x1050 on my viewsonic.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I don't have a specific budget in mind, but preferably wouldn't like to spend over $1000 for total.

Any recommendations greatly appreciated as I have limited knowledge in this area. Thanks :)

Fortunex

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2009
I'd grab an Antec, Corsair, PC Power and Cooling or Seasonic power supply, first of all. Never trust your expensive rig in the hands of a low quality PSU.

Then your best bet would be to get a Radeon HD4870 or 4890, a Phenom II 720 or 940, and a new motherboard. If you get the 720, you could get an AM3 motherboard and DDR3 RAM, whereas the 940 is a quad core, but uses DDR2 RAM (which you already have). If you can fit it in your budget (not sure on how much more expensive things are over there in Aussie land), you could also look at a Phenom 955 with an AM3/DDR3 build.

xc0mmiex

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2008
here is my true and honest opinion... and i have a rig very similar to yours.....