Recommendation For a Graphics Card

avipan

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009
As I am not as knowledgeable on graphics cards I would like to ask the community there recommendation on a graphics card for my computer

Bit of Back ground:
I have a great computer with but it did not come with a graphics card nor does one exist on the motherboard, I installed an aging card for a temporary solution.

Question:
I am now hunting for a graphics card for my computer. Here is a list that I will be using the card for or what would be important to me.

1. Will not be using it for gaming (non-gaming). I am a software developer (so text editing would the most demanding for the card and maybe watching a movie here and there).
2. Need to run the latest graphics (Areo, Xorg, compiz, Kwin this is fine for me).
3. Support for all OS (Microsoft, Linux, Solaris….).
4. Support for a longer period of time than most graphics cards in the industry today (Drivers from the manufacture)
5. Stability in the card (Very important).
6. Low power consumption.
7. Low temperature.

I have narrowed the list to one card and I would like to know are there other alternatives. The card I have picked is Quadro NVS 295

Thank You
Avi

rosenberg1979

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2007
call me crazy but if you aren't using CAD or other software that will take advantage of the workstation class graphics cards (i.e. the quadro series) save your money. It's really not an issue of GPU performance, it's about the drivers that enable hardware based openGL acceleration (at least thats what I understand).

I'll think you'll do fine with just a consumer level GPU for what you have specked out. You'll be able to turn on eyecandy and have GPU based video decoding. Nvidia is a must if you are gonna be running linux. Solaris is outside of me however, they do list solaris ia32/x64 drivers on nvidia's download page

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150354