Newbie former Mac person wants to build an i7 system for 1600

baneVader

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2009
Hi,
I am an autocad engineer and right now I have an AMD phenom ll I got at FRY's for about 600 complete. It has 8 gig ram and I think it has a cheap graphics card, it's in an HP case with a lot of cool ports and stuff. Anyway, I don't like the performance when I have a lot of stuff going in autocad. I sometimes have 5 gig task going when loaded up. It redraws slowly and loads additional stuff (xref's for those of you who know) too slowly. Plus somebody in the company has a faster set-up and that hurts me a lot. Help.

I have money and am ready now. I can spend whatever it takes, but I will sacrifice performance for value. I don't want to pay a huge premium for the latest greatest. I think 16-1800 should get me something cool, plus the display

remember I don't know *** from shinola so don't even talk to me about overclocking (unless it's easy lol)

BUDGET RANGE: 2K plus display (30" sounds cool)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Intensive 3D and Autocad vector based application and rendering, probably similar to graphic intensive games

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I need everything

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: any, but I live in Cali so Newegg charges tax there

PARTS PREFERENCES: I'm thinking i7 for sure

OVERCLOCKING: don't know

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I think I'm spoiled by Apple cinema display because I set it at 800x600 stretched and I don't have to wear my reading glasses, looking for something that can handle various resolutions like that if possible

I don't necessarily care what it looks like, I like DVD write and lightscribe, looking for a quiet but cool assembly, energy efficient if possible. Extra slots to add a few things.

I appreciate any help. Thanks

r_manic

Administrator