Oct 7, 2009
Hi,

I recently built a new machine with the below configuration:

Intel QuadCore Q9550 2.8 GHz, 12 MB L2, 1.3 GHz FSB
Intel DP45SG MotherBoard
Transcend 2GB DDR3 RAM
NVidia GeForce 8400 GS Graphics Card
500 GB Sata HDD

Intex 22" TFT Monito (1680 X 1050 resolution) (I dont know if it matters)

I am quite new to hardware aspects and I didn't know that PSU is an important part. So I didn't do much research into PSUs and bought some cheap PSU (1250 for Cabinet + PSU). Now the system hangs up after running for an hour or so. If I run some graphics intensive program like games or photo editing softwares it hangs in 5 minutes.

So some guy suggested that the problem is with the PSU. Now I am planning to replace it.

Now I am totally confused about which PSU to buy and what wattage and amperage I need.

Please suggest me on this.

Thanks in advance.

sukheshmg

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2009

Thank you for the fast reply.

At present I am sitting in my office and the PC is at home. I ll give the details once I go home.

Is a 350W PSU sufficient? Somebody suggested a 600W Zebronics power supply.

Also if I update my PC by adding one more graphics card (may be a better one - people say that 8400 is a bad one for gaming) will the 350W one be sufficient?

Thanks once again

The general rule of thumb is a high quality 500 to 500 watt power supply with sufficient current (amps) on the 12 volt rail(s) can easily power a system with any single video card made. A high quality 700 to 750 watt power supply with sufficient current (amps) on the 12 volt rail(s) can power a system with two video cards operating in dual mode. There are a few exceptions like the new ATI Radeon HD 5XXX series cards which use less power due to their energy efficiency.

Before purchasing a new psu you will need to decide whether you will eventually have a pc with one or two video cards.