Having trouble with overclocking e6400

origin1992

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2011
Hi, Im new to overclocking and trying to oc my Core 2 Duo e6400 from 2.13 to 2.5Ghz, and possibly more when i get better cooling, but whenever i raise the fsb from 266 up to about 300 my pc bluescreens just before windows boots.

I've tried increasing the voltage slightly and my RAM frequency is set to auto timings are 5-6-6-18 ive turned off all extra features e.g intel speedstep, non of this makes any difference.

I've also tried lowering multiplier but no change.
oh also there are different jumper settings on the mobo dont know of i need to change them. Havent tried, dont want to screw it up.

pls help :)

Mobo - Asrock p41c-de
CPU - Core 2 Duo e6400 @ 2.13Ghz
RAM - 2gb Kingston 800mhz single channel
GFX - Geforce 9600gt

Take your RAM off the Auto setting and set your memory clock to 533 MHz (twice the FSB freq). I am unfamiliar with the Asrock BIOS, so I cannot tell you how.

The big problem here is that different BIOS' define terms slightly differently.

My definitions (extracted from an old post):

Definition time (attention purists, I'm talking about DDR2 and I'm simplifying a little :)):
Core2 CPU's use a frontside bus (FSB). The FSB is a thing with two main characteristics: speed which is usually defined in MHz and width which in the Core2's is 64 bits wide. We are concerned with the speed.

Using the Q6600 as an example, the FSB frequency is 266 MHz. The matching DDR2 memory clock for that frequency is 533 MHz (266 X 2). DDR2 memory transfers two chunks of data for each bus cycle, hence double the frequency. So, to run 1:1 at an FSB of 266 MHz, we need DDR2-533 RAM. What CPUZ does is a little confusing. It will tell you that the memory frequency is 266 MHz for a 1:1 ratio.

The FSB clock is 1066 MHz (266 X 4). The bus is "quad pumped". It transfers 4 chunks of data into and out of the CPU each cycle. So each FSB cycle generates 4 FSB clocks.