Gigabyte GA-Z68P: ATI or Nvidia

I have the motherboard in the title, it is more the casual users board and only supports ATI XFire. Currently I have a Nvidia GTX560ti but it appears if I were to want to SLi, the motherboard doesn't cater for SLI support. Does this mean I should rather for Gigabyte consider using ATI?

AdrianPerry

Distinguished
Your final sentence makes no sense so im not sure what your asking.

Basically your motherboard will support 2 ATI cards (for example x2 6950's) but it wont support x2 Nvidia Cards (x2 560Ti's).

If you want to SLI with your 560Ti you would need to buy a new motherboard with SLI support.

If you want to make use of multi-gpu's without changing your motherboard you can swap out the 560Ti for 2 ATI cards.

So 2 options;
New Motherboard
or
2 New Graphics cards

Yeah thats what I was asking, essentially I can swap out the 560 and with the cash go for the 6870/6950/6970. To be honest I have never used ATI before so I am considering whether to just forgo any Dual GPU support, and on the other side ATI fans are saying that ATI/Nvidia is all much of a muchness.

AdrianPerry

Distinguished
In all fairness, the NEED to add a second Graphics card is probably very minimal at the present time.

I personally own a 560Ti and I can run Crysis with everything maxed out with 40 fps. Im not sure what more than this you would want. Games like Call of Duty and Bioshock 2 all run at 100+fps meaning theres no reason at all to add a second card because the increased performance wont make any noticeable difference.

If you sell your 560Ti now, and buy a single 6950 - your going to be getting almost exactly the same performance. Which is essentially, pointless. The only reason you should consider buying/selling any components is if your seriously considering adding a second card.