Sign in with
Your question
Closed

GIGABYTE GA-790FXTA-UD5 vs MSI 790FX GD70 for a noob first build?

Last response: in Motherboards
January 8, 2010 1:18:30 PM

Hey everyone,

My name's Mike. First time here on the forums.

I'm building my first PC and (through exhausting research) had my mind set on the MSI 790FX GD70 for what will be a 965 C3 125W.

Seems pretty good, then I saw the GIGABYTE GA-790FXTA-UD5.

I'm new to system building and completely new to the actions and vocabulary of overclocking and with this system build I'd like to learn more about it.

That being said, I want to build a system better geared toward the future and the Gigabyte has USB 3.0 and SATA 6gbps.

Is this worth it? I understand the bottom line of these new technologies is faster data transfer, but is there a lot of support for it?

The rig will be used for gaming, CS4, and general use. I will be putting in a 4890 to start with the intention of putting another later on. I doubt I would EVER use the quad-crossfire benefit of the MSI.

So which one should I go for, and why?

Thanks friends, for the help and advice.

Mike
a c 156 V Motherboard
January 9, 2010 2:42:33 PM

I happen to prefer Gigabyte motherboards. And for an additional discriminator, there's certainly nothing wrong with faster i/o. :) 

My question to you is why the 4890 and not one of the 5850 or 5770's?
Score
January 9, 2010 3:07:24 PM

jsc said:
I happen to prefer Gigabyte motherboards. And for an additional discriminator, there's certainly nothing wrong with faster i/o. :) 

My question to you is why the 4890 and not one of the 5850 or 5770's?

Haha thanks for the reply (I thought no one was going to answer). Quite simply, the 4890's cheaper. And it gets great reviews. But the most popular feedback I get is that which you have asked....why not a 5850? I'm beginning to ask myself and may very well just go that route. So you say the Gigabyte board? I know the MSI is "battle proven" and the Gigabyte is fairly new....
Score