Critique this build !

Javea1

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2008
Heyyo!

I've accumulated quite a bit of extra cash over the year and plan on burning some dough on a new gaming rig (I'm still on an outdated P4/AGP rig). I've put together a basic outline of something I'd like to build. I'm open to any general advice or suggestions, as I'm a noob with hardware, so if I made any lackluster choices feel free to correct them! :)

United States ($) and ordering from Newegg by the way.

MOBO: ASUS P6T SE LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

GPU: XFX HD-489A-ZDFC Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Retail

HSF: XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler - Retail

SSD (OS + games): OCZ Summit OCZSSD2-1SUM120G 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid state disk (SSD) - Retail

HDD (storage): Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives - OEM

Sound Card: ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels PCI Express Interface Sound Card - Retail

RAM: G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ - Retail

PSU (is this overkill?): CORSAIR CMPSU-850HX 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Retail

Case: Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

Thermal Paste: Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM

Thermal Compound Remover: Arctic Silver ACN-60ML (2-PC-SET) Thermal material Remover & Surface Purifier - OEM

---------------