Areca ARC-1880i or something else?

Rusting In Peace

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2009
I'm looking at this card for my Ubuntu 10.10 NAS to run RAID 5 or 6 with 4x2TB drives.

Does anyone have this card? I've read some reviews about it but the tiny fan looks, sounds and performs terribly. So I'm somewhat concerned.

Perhaps someone has another card suggestion? I can spend up to £500. Any suggestions must be available from the UK, work under Ubuntu and must support at least 8 SATA drives.

Thanks!

Solution
I have been using a ARC-1880i controller for about 5 months and I don't have any problems. It gives me better RAID5 and RAID6 performance than my old ARC-1220 controller using the same set of hard drives (eight 1TB SATA 3Gb/sec hard drives).
I expect its performance will be even better after I replace those 1TB drives with the latest 3TB SATA 6GB/sec hard drives.

The fan on the card is not loud at all. It's more or less the type of small fan you would see on various hardware RAID controller.

I'm curious what reviews showed ARC-1880i performs badly.
Care to provide some links to those reviews?

thenewnumber2

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2009

I have the 1680i, and love it. I expect the 1880 is of comparable quality.

You're right about the stock cooling being minimal, though. I have a water- cooled system, so I just swapped out the fan with a water block and was good to go.

saiyan

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2007
I have been using a ARC-1880i controller for about 5 months and I don't have any problems. It gives me better RAID5 and RAID6 performance than my old ARC-1220 controller using the same set of hard drives (eight 1TB SATA 3Gb/sec hard drives).
I expect its performance will be even better after I replace those 1TB drives with the latest 3TB SATA 6GB/sec hard drives.

The fan on the card is not loud at all. It's more or less the type of small fan you would see on various hardware RAID controller.

I'm curious what reviews showed ARC-1880i performs badly.