Help overclocking this PC

Tags:
  • AMD
  • Overclocking
  • Graphics Cards
  • Processors
Last response: in Overclocking
August 9, 2011 1:41:46 PM

I am new to overclocking. I have an ASUS PC with an AMD Phenom X6 processor 8GB RAM, ASUS 450 GTS video card, and a 500 watt power supply. I want to overclock both the processor and the video card. Do I have enough power? Will my computer get to hot? The processor speed is 2.9 gHz. What is the max I can overclock my cpu and video card while still staying safe? What programs could I use to overclock, or do I need to use the BIOS?

More about : overclocking

a b K Overclocking
a b U Graphics card
August 9, 2011 10:58:42 PM

It is generally recommended to OC using the BIOS, as some Windows-based software doesn't always correctly adjust the settings you'd change.

As for how far you can go, that is the fun part about learning and trying. Here are somethings to know:

1. Get an aftermarket CPU cooler Frozencpu.com or Newegg.com are good places to browse.
2. Provide specs or a link to your PSU for better comment.
3. With OCing, the temps will increase. This is a simple equation: speed + voltage = heat/temp.
4. Set your RAM to manufacturer's spec before starting your OC
5. Disable Cool n' Quiet, as you don't want the mobo to turn off your fans

Once you've satisfied the list above, start your OC by:

1. Raising your multiplier by .5 until Windows fails to boot. Usually your system will restart or BSOD just before Windows when the CPU speed is too high for your current settings.

2. When you've reached step 1, reduce the multiplier by .5 until Windows boots again.

Here's where the fun begins...

3. Increase vcore if you want to go higher than step 2, but don't go higher than 1.5V, or you'll risk frying your CPU.