Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help Overclocking AMD Phenom XII 955 BE

Last response: in Overclocking
August 9, 2011 10:43:56 PM

Hi, long time reader at Tom's Hardware, don't post very much. Would really much like to get some help overclocking my new AMD setup. I am still a newb to overclocking though, AMD especially, I did last overclock my e6550 quite well to 3.5ghz. I've tried to read and research a lot on what to do, but I just can't get it right and AMD overclocking is new to me

Okay, so I built a new computer for now to hold me over until later, I was using a e6550 forever and it just needed replaced... so anyway...

My rig is as follows:
MSI 780A-G54 AMD mobo
AMD Phenomx XII 955 BE stepping 3 rev C3 @ stock speed, 1.22vcore, NB-CPU 1.07, NB 1.095 (lowest settings on all)
Coolermaster n520 CPU Heatsink (just installed last night so paste isn't set yet, temps still kind of high)
Corsair Vengenace DDR3 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 1T @ 1.5v
EVGA GTX560ti SC 1GB
Antec TruePower 550w

When I was OCing to 3.8ghz CPU, CPU-NB 2.6ghz, HT default: (61c was max temp at full load, it's high and dangerous, but I expect it to go down 3-4c once the past sets, if it doesn't I'll pull back the OC, my ambient room temp is probably 25-35c during summer in So. California
vcore 1.37
cpu-nb 1.28
nb 1.115
sb 1.115

I ran OCCT for an hour (yeah I should run longer I guess, but usually, I can do fine in games with no problems.)
I ran Modern Warfare 2 and was streaming 720p onto Justin.tv with no problems, crashes etc last night.

Today, I decided to play some City of Heroes, and I log in, and I tab out to look something up. Few minutes later, everything is crashing to desktop. City of Heroes is artifacting and locked up. Firefox won't reload. Just keeps crashing. I have to reboot.

I reboot, play some Black Ops for 30-40 mins, no problems. Go back to City of Heroes, same problems. I reset everything back to stock as I am currently. And no crashes. So obviously, something is unstable.