New Computer Built...just given SSD :)

nopressure0

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2011
Hey folks,
I have only some experience building. This is my second machine, the first was long-overdue for an upgrade. So I decided not to invest in a SSD, and opted to reformat a 7200 1TB disc that I had, and added a brand new 1TB 7200... Well lo and behold, after everything is set up and running perfectly, my wife buys me (as a gift) a 120gig vertex 2... UGH! What do I do? I've never done any sort of RAID config before and certainly haven't messed with SSD... I can't wait to install it but... how to go about it?? I read so many conflicting views. If someone could point me in the right direction, I would be grateful. Thanks!

Solution
I'll play devil's advocate and suggest doing a fresh install on the SSD and keeping the big drives for data storage and some programs.
The problem with SSD's is they run out of real estate fairly quickly. You can't put everything on there, but you don't need to. Install the OS, then pick and choose which priority apps you want on there, such as web browsers, email, and your favorite most used applications. For the most part, larger applications will run fine on your mechanical drives. I have a few select games on my SSD, mostly strategy titles that suffer from long load times. My guess is you have a lot of programs loaded on the 1TB drive(s) that may not be neccessary on the SSD.

As long as you install windows in AHCI mode, you...

Not4Naught

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2011