Sign in with
Your question

Integrated/No Graphics I5

Last response: in CPUs
October 17, 2009 4:31:57 AM

I was wondering what everyone's opinion is on the integrated graphics coming in on the I5s. Would it just be better to get the I5-7xx series and avoid integrated graphics as I can get a more powerful CPU for the same amount of money.

I know this will come down to what I need so... I just want to be able to watch movies and run a decent graphics OS (win7 or compiz/KDE4), depending on how much I have to invest maybe play starcraft 2, maybe supreme commander 2... im definitly no super user or gamer. One big thing though is that I'm a silent computer enthusiast so I want to attempt to keep my power output at 200-350W.
I have a PSU and a P182 case, and could spend say ~500$ on a GPU,CPU MOBO, ram... money isnt a big deal.
I would also like to have system longevity, I've been running this computer since 2004 and its still snappy with XP, compiz, and 720p videos and that makes me happy.

Would it be best to get the integrated graphics and just upgrade the whole CPU after a few years or get discrete graphics and update separately when/if i need to.

I'm pretty decent with all the technical stuff (I design FPGA components) but I have no feel for what power I need to play SupCom2 for instance, and handle the next few years of OSs (if i ever switch from XP/PCLINUXOS :p ).

I would be building this after Christmas and the time is flexible if it makes a difference.
Thanks a tonne!

More about : integrated graphics

a c 215 à CPUs
October 17, 2009 4:49:43 AM