Solved

1100T overclock help I'm a Beginner

Here are my specs related to the overclocking:

Cooler Master Haf X Case stock fans
Cooler Master Hyper 212 CPU Cooler
8gb G. Skill Ripjaws 1600 speed
Formula V Mobo

I did just a quick overclock to 3.8ghz without raising the voltage so far and everything looks great.
so far i just changed the ratio to 18x on all cores and to 210mhz
How far will i probably be able to go with this specs and when will i need to add voltage? I'm trying for 4.1ghz

Also with the overclocking software im using on my Formula V motherboard called Turbo V im able to change the CPU ratio on one core at a time. Since i mostly use my computer for video games and most games only use four cores would i get better results only overclocking the first four cores and not all 6?

Thanks to all replys!
10 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about 1100t overclock beginner
  1. indeed with the Asus Turbo V are not recommendation to 4GHz, and still Ok for small OC, not whether the mobo has support UEFI BIOS? My recommendation using UEFI BIOS!
    many feature Cstate need disabled / Enabled like Cool n Quite, Spread Spectrum, C1E, PCIE at 100 ..and would be dangerous if you leave the settings in the OC in a state of Auto.
    if you managed to OC at 3.8GHz as well do it with prime5 Stability test for Intelburntest 4jam or could use, you can be disabled 2 cores for game , it will make the CPU more cold and lower voltage
  2. alright and also what are the effects on the longevity of my CPU by overclocking?
  3. Longevinity depend on voltage and temperature, if overclock still below recommendation it will longterm
    Ex: cpu vcore not more than 1.44 and temperature not more than 55C when fulload.
    I have x6 still use everyday for my job oc at 3.8ghz with vcore 1.44 (still recommend from amd 1.45) and temperature below 50C fulload .. It will longterm. Just suggestion !
  4. henydiah said: