Project Proposal: Is it possible?

doublepedaldylan

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2011
I have a i5-2500k on an MSI P67A-GD53 (B3) and I just bought a Hyper 212+. Been reading up on OCing and will do much more research before I actually start.

My project idea is this:
I live in Duluth, MN and it gets F-ing cold here in the winter. Thinking of running an intake duct from a window in the computer's room and run it to the front intake fans (has a screen filter on it, antec 300 illusion).

Is this asking to kill the computer (though figuring fairly low humidity and dust in the winter)? If it may be possible, how high do you think I could push it with 0c ambient temps or lower?

If I sound like a nut, I'm new to this :)

Solution
i live in winnipeg and had the thought cross my mind, too, but the extreme cold will most likely destroy one of your other components such as hard drive or PSU as they are not meant to operate at such low temps.
Also, even though it gets dry outside, there are ice crystals in the air that will "mist" your PC over time.
Not to mention unless it is a sealed & insulated duct, it will make your room freaking cold, too
don't try it,,, next best thing is to actually just open the window in the room to lower the ambient temp as then you can keep an eye on things better, but really not a good idea either.

No idea, but what would you do in the summertime?

doublepedaldylan

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2011

Remove duct and run it how I do now (no AC). Thermal curtains, opening windows at night, and running with fans maxed out :/ best I can do unless I want to relocate to the unfinished dungeon of a basement.

monkeysweat

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2009
i live in winnipeg and had the thought cross my mind, too, but the extreme cold will most likely destroy one of your other components such as hard drive or PSU as they are not meant to operate at such low temps.
Also, even though it gets dry outside, there are ice crystals in the air that will "mist" your PC over time.