Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Here's something that raises a HUGE flag about SSD drives

Last response: in Storage
April 21, 2011 4:18:10 PM

Hey guys,

I'm getting 2 OCZ SSD drives soon and was doing some research on how to use them and care for them so I stumbled upon an article and read this interesting tidbit of info.

"Each sector of a Solid State Drive has a limited number of writes before it cannot be overwritten anymore."

WTF????? I'm no expert but it seems that the industry is making these drives to only last a certain amount of time as opposed to letting them go on and on until they die like any other hard drive. This to me raises some doubts as to wether I'll ever buy one again. Of course I'm speaking out of pure speculation and ignorance since I've never owned one.

So what's the real scoop on this? Are SSD drives really built to just stop working after a certain amount of time?

And let's be clear here. i know that EVERYTHING wears down. Tires, motor oil, capacitors ect... But for the industry to make a product that is programmed to just STOP working after a certain amount of time seems very unethical to me. ESPECIALLY considering the cost.

Here's the article

http://www.ghacks.net/2009/01/03/should-you-defragment-...

Best solution

a b G Storage
April 21, 2011 4:32:19 PM

this is a well known factor to most considering this tech. basically, it hasn't slowed down sales much at all and is a non-issue unless yuo're running these things in server environments in which case you just move to SLC based drives for greater stamina.

Here's a simple rule to get ballpark estimates of lifespan. Many drives have nand rated at a certain program erase cycle count(PE/c) most of which are currently around 3000PE/c ratings. Take the physical size of the drive(NOT the advertised size) and multiply by the PE/c rating.