How do you replace an integrated graphic card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cluelessguy

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2011
Hi, I need help on how to replace an integrated graphic card with a better and this is my first time doing it so I'm afraid of doing something that might damage the computer since it's a new one :sweat: . If it's possible, a step by step instructions would be really helpful. Basically, I want to know how and what to uninstall first so that i can install a new one. After that, i want to know how to install the other graphic card.

Current graphic card: geforce 7025. One thing that i'm not sure is what kind of graphic cards are compatible with integrated motherboards. I heard that PCI are the ones but i hope someone can verify that for me.

One more thing, any recommendations for graphic cards that are not too cheap ($50 if possible) and can run games decently.

Sorry, I know I'm asking for a lot and I thank those who would take their time to respond to this. :D

Solution
Nope, when you install a pcie or agp graphics card, the mobo uses that over the integrated chip,
some systems have a hybrid system where you can set it up to use both but thats by and large irrelevant
you want to identify your motherboards available sockets, most likely they are pcie
what is your motherboard?
you buy a suitable card for the system
you turn pc off, slot the card into place,using clips if your mobo has them and/or screwing in the backplate to the case
connect any power lines needed by the card, not all cards use extra power lines
turn pc on, boot into windows/ your operating system
install drivers from disk that came with your gfx card
update them to latest version from manufacturers website
thats pretty much as step by...
Integrated graphics are either chips soldered onto the motherboard, or are part of the cpu chip. You can't replace them.