Sign in with
Your question

Need advice on first build

Last response: in Systems
July 22, 2009 11:18:10 PM

Hey all. I have done a fair bit of research already, but haven't started my own thread. I was hoping that I could get some commentary on any potential problems with my build and any alternatives that people may suggest. I also have some specific questions below.

This is my first build. I do a fair bit of gaming, but I'm not hardcore. I'm looking to put something together that will last and that I won't have to upgrade for a couple years. Price is a concern, so I will list what I have paid thus far and what I anticipate paying for the other parts so you can have a frame of reference

I also would like to know if salvaging the old components from my old rig is even worth it.

Here's what I have so far

I7 920 2.66 processor 199 from Microcenter
Gigabyte x58 UD4p MB 185 from Ewiz
1tb WD Caviar Black HD 88 from Dell

NEC ND3500A DVD R/W firmware flashed 3100A salvaged from last machine
Samsung CDR/RW SW252S Salvaged from last machine
Creative SB Audigy 2 Sound card Salvaged from last machine
160 GB HD from old Dell dimension 8400 Salvaged

Here is what I anticipate buying in the next few weeks and anticipated prices

Coolermaster 690 case 90 bucks
Coolermaster V8 58 bucks
OCZ 6gb platinum low voltage DDR3 90 bucks
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 105 bucks
OCZ free extreme compound 6 bucks
Additional fans (need advice)
Sapphire 4890 or possibly Toxic 190 - 250 bucks

A couple specific questions:
1) Is it worth using a crappy old soundcard when the new motherboard supports 7.1 anyway? I just don't know if having a devoted card will help performance of the motherboard because it will be one less task for it to handle.
2) Is 850W PSU more than I need for this build, even if I don't want to replace it in 3 years and I may put a second card in when mine becomes obsolete? (Also, I am planning on overclocking at least a little)