Sign in with
Your question

Corsair H60 CPU Cooler Review (or sorts)

Tags:
  • Water Cooling
  • Software
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
August 22, 2011 9:25:47 PM

I made a video depicting the variances of what the temperature diode "reports" to software and what the "ACTUAL" temps really are.
In my case, there is/was a 25C difference in accuracy in what the software reported. This can be huge when stock fans are used since they are marginal at best at keeping temps down.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7gHo_Eyiu4Q

I was impressed with the H60. See the video and feel free to criticize or compliment, as long as it is constructive.

Remember this is my first attempt at setting up such a unit.

Also, I got similar temps when OCing to 3412 and was stable at this level . Trying 3600+ next, but I suspect the H60 will keep temps at bay. Ambient Room Temperatures is/was 75F.

Thanks all

More about : corsair h60 cpu cooler review sorts

August 22, 2011 9:26:42 PM

ALso note, I used a high-end infrared thermometer to do the heat measurements.
a c 337 K Overclocking
August 22, 2011 10:12:26 PM

Temps are read at the IHS of the CPU and the sensors there, not the side of the waterblock or the side/top of the Corsair cooler itself. It's very hard to see exactly where on the side of the CPU/mount you were hitting, but its possible you could have been monitoring temps of a transistor or other MB component. You'd need to have a probe right on the IHS of the CPU to be much more accurate.

ASUS Probe is notoriously inaccurate...this is widely known. Most manufacturer monitoring software also is inaccurate as well. Use RealTemp or CoreTemp to read your temp sensors more accurately. See if you get different temp readouts using one of those pieces of software in comparison, I'd be curious to see how much difference there is.

Related resources
August 22, 2011 10:33:59 PM