Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need Helping Overlocking CPU

Last response: in Overclocking
August 23, 2011 6:29:22 PM

Hello Everyone. I am new to overclocking and ask for some help from more experienced people.
I want to overclock my AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Quad Core Processor - 3.00GHz.
I need to know a rough estimate on voltages etc. If anyone has this processor and has overclocked theirs could you please get back to me.
I would like to get it to around 3.4ghz, and if possible 3.6ghz.

Specs:

AMD HDZ940XCJ4DGI Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Quad Core Processor - 3.00GHz, 6MB Cache,
1800MHz (3600 MT/s) FSB, Deneb, Quad-Core, Socket AM2+, Unlocked Multiplier, OEM CPU.

Link: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item...

Please reply asap.

Thanks, Awknathan.

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
August 23, 2011 8:14:07 PM

No one can give you the exact voltages or BIOS settings for overclocking as each CPU is different and to find the right combo requires that you make a change and then test. The links below on OC'ing an AMD CPU should help. Overclocking is entertainment not a destination so be patient, careful and cautious. Be advised that it is possible to damage your hardware or lose data with OC'ing.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/phenom-overclock-at...

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=596...
m
l

Best solution

a c 159 à CPUs
a c 289 K Overclocking
August 23, 2011 8:44:49 PM

What cooler do you have?

For those 3.4GHz maybe you don't need any voltage increase just go to your BIOS and change the multiplier from x15 to x17 boot to windows and use LinX or prime95 for test the stability of your rig, 2 hours or more are recommendable.

For 3.6GHz you maybe need increase the CPU voltage a little, just go to your BIOS again and try with 1.325V on CPU Voltage, test again with the above programs for stability.

Let me know the results....and no, there's not possibility of lose data if you do overclock.
Related resources