Solved

Hardware newb trying to build powerful machine

Hello everyone,

I am a programmer with limited hardware knowledge. I've never had a good computer. I've been running a amd xp 3200 for the last 7 years and motherboard finally crapped out. So I figure I'm going to build a dream computer. So far I've priced out:

Intel i7 960
Asus Rampage II Motherboard
Intel 80GB SSD
Asus Radeon 5870

Now I'm trying to determine what memory setup to go with. I'm deciding between a:
6GB Triple Channel setup or a
12GB Triple Channel setup

I know 12GB is really over kill but I was thinking I could turn the page file/virtual memory off. What kind of added performance will this give me? Can one of you hardware guru's chime in on this for me? I would really appreciate to hear your opinions. If 12GB is unnecessary I might use that money towards a bigger Solid State Drive.

Thanks,

Dan
10 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about hardware newb build powerful machine
  1. 12GB is definitely overkill. You can start with 6GB (3x2GB). If that is getting tapped out, you can always add more later.

I would even say the i7 960 is overkill. Though, it's a beast, the i7 920 with a good CPU cooler, can be OC'd up over 3.5Ghz.

Don't forget a good PSU to power your new system. For a single video card setup, this is a very nice/well priced PSU.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341022&cm_re=ocz_550w-_-17-341-022-_-Product
  2. well first and foremost, you need to tell us your budget for this build, your expectations, and what kind of software you will be running one it (be specific).
  3. Budget: Unlimited
    Expectations: A machine that will last and be easily upgradeable in the future. A machine that will destroy benchmarks. I'd rather build a sick machine then upgrade it every year.