Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Hardware newb trying to build powerful machine

Last response: in Memory
January 15, 2010 11:55:13 PM

Hello everyone,

I am a programmer with limited hardware knowledge. I've never had a good computer. I've been running a amd xp 3200 for the last 7 years and motherboard finally crapped out. So I figure I'm going to build a dream computer. So far I've priced out:

Intel i7 960
Asus Rampage II Motherboard
Intel 80GB SSD
Asus Radeon 5870

Now I'm trying to determine what memory setup to go with. I'm deciding between a:
6GB Triple Channel setup or a
12GB Triple Channel setup

I know 12GB is really over kill but I was thinking I could turn the page file/virtual memory off. What kind of added performance will this give me? Can one of you hardware guru's chime in on this for me? I would really appreciate to hear your opinions. If 12GB is unnecessary I might use that money towards a bigger Solid State Drive.

Thanks,

Dan
a b } Memory
January 16, 2010 12:23:38 AM

12GB is definitely overkill. You can start with 6GB (3x2GB). If that is getting tapped out, you can always add more later.

I would even say the i7 960 is overkill. Though, it's a beast, the i7 920 with a good CPU cooler, can be OC'd up over 3.5Ghz.

Don't forget a good PSU to power your new system. For a single video card setup, this is a very nice/well priced PSU.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
l
January 16, 2010 1:19:00 AM

well first and foremost, you need to tell us your budget for this build, your expectations, and what kind of software you will be running one it (be specific).
m
l
Related resources
January 16, 2010 3:19:07 AM

Budget: Unlimited
Expectations: A machine that will last and be easily upgradeable in the future. A machine that will destroy benchmarks. I'd rather build a sick machine then upgrade it every year.