Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HD storage overrides SSD raid0 in bios

Last response: in Storage
April 24, 2011 7:30:17 PM

Sorry if this has been asked before, been trying to search around and I can not find this particular situation.

I am a professional 3D artist/compositor, and wanted to set up a SSD raid 0 as I am reading/writing many large files, and working with lots of video image sequences in compositing software such as nuke and after effects. I am currently using 2 corsair f120 SSDs, and got everything set up and working great. I have read/write speeds over 500mb on big files on the benchmark, and averaging around 275mb read speeds just monitoring it.

The problem I ran into was after I installed windows to the raid. I installed a 1.5tb drive for my storage, and now the mobo will only try and boot from this drive. In the boot priority section of bios it is also the only drive selectable, where as previously I simply selected my raid0 drive to boot from. If I disconnect the 1.5tb drive for the boot up, and then plug it back in while windows is loaded, it is fine. :pt1cable: 

I am using windows 7. The mobo is a asus p6t Deluxe v2, and the raid is using the intel Controller. I set my storage configuration in my bios to Raid, and configured the raid using the Ctrl-i raid set up.

I am relatively new to setting up the raids, this is my first one and have just been following tutorials on the internet, and doing a lot of research. I may have missed something :sol: 

Thank you for any help!
April 26, 2011 3:51:15 AM

Update: I purchased 2 WD Caviar black 2tb drives to put in a raid 1. The 1.5tb drive was getting somewhat old, and was a seagate baracuda which i have been reading tend to fail early. The hope is that having two raids will get rid of the problem :) 
m
l

Best solution

a c 300 G Storage
April 26, 2011 6:20:06 PM