What mobo/cpu combo?

freakaccident

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2010
I am in the process of upgrading my current system and am looking for suggestions on mobo/cpu combos. I currently have a Gigabyte EP45-ud3p with a q9440 2.66 OCd to 3.6 on air in an ATCS 840 chassis.

I have ordered a new case, HAF X, and an XSPC Rasa 750 RS360 CPU cooling system.

What would be an affordable yet powerful mobo/cpu combo? I am partial to the Gigabyte mobos. I have never used an AMD chip before but they seem to be much more affordable.

I am currently looking at:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDE00ZFBGRBOX
+
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
$319.98

What about memory?

Any suggestions or comments?

Thanks!!!

EDIT - PSU is a Corsair TX650w

freakaccident

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2010
l called gskill in taiwan and couldn't have had more fun tonight. Originally I called to check mobo/cpu/mem compatibility. All of this is from memory and isn't word for word.

The first dude "Ken" said they were starting their lunch break and I needed to call back. I kept the convo going for a few minutes.

Me: "What are you having for lunch?"
Ken: "Rice, like American Chinese food"
Me: "Gross. I hope you are kidding."
Ken: "Yes, Please call back in 30 minutes."

Second call:

Operator: "*%*&^(*&^"
Me: "Can I please speak with Ken?"
Operator: "We don't have a Ken"
Me: "Want to check compatibility"
Operator: *transfers*
Matt: "hi"
Me: *check comp blah blah*
Matt: "Comp ok"
Matt: "Wait a month. A new and better ? will be out next month. I can't tell you anymore but wait."
Me: "Please?"
Matt: "No!"
Me: "What did you have for lunch?"
Matt: "Noodles"
Me: "What time is it it?:
etc etc etc

Soooo a new fancy "something" is coming out of gskill next month.