GA-EP45-DS4P Corsair RAM BSOD

Sathar

Distinguished
Aug 24, 2008
I've been having a frustrating time with my system, mostly because I haven't been able to determine to my satisfaction whether my problem is software or hardware based, and further whether it's due to bad component(s), or bad settings/incompatibilities.

First, me:

Self taught computer geek with a (very rusty) Engineering degree gathering dust somewhere. I've been demoted from "Child Prodigy" somewhere in the '80s to "Obsolete Fossil" now. I've been building my own machines regularly for about 15 years, but sadly every year I understand what I'm doing a little less, are rely on dances and rituals to empower the strange artifacts falling from the gods' sky-cities. I'm reasonably savvy under the hood (but feel naked without my soldering iron), and can follow directions pretty well even if I've long lost the insight into figuring out what the hell Windows is actually doing.

My machine:

Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS4P MB F8 BIOS
Corsair XMS2 PC8500 DDR2 1066MHz 2048MBx2
Intel Core Duo E8500
GeForce GTX260 video
Creative X-Fi Titanium pro
WD 75GB x2 SATA RAID (Current boot drive)
WD 250GB SATA (Alternate boot drive)
Pair of misc optical drives, Saitek USB KB, Razer USB mouse, generic floppy
Belkin N1 Wireless adapter (PCI)
Antec case/Antec 700W Earthwatts PS (or something like that)

WinXP Pro 32-bit SP3
ESET Nod32 Antivirus

All drivers and BIOS are current, nothing is overclocked, but a word about the age of some of the components:

I've had a string of "Bad luck" before with this box, starting with what I think was a rotten power supply last year, so...

The RAM is new (04/09), "Upgrading" from 4x 1GB 800MHz Crucial sticks (two slightly different sets of two)
The MB is new (05/09) replacing an identical model which got "damaged" when installing the RAM (Stuck in S3 infinite loop)
The CPU is new (05/09) impulse purchased when replacing the MB (old was a E6600 -- wasn't positive it wasn't damaged from earlier)