Sign in with
Your question

HELP!! OCing i7 965x

Last response: in Overclocking
August 28, 2011 8:23:27 PM

Anyone who can help will be much appreciated.

I am relatively new to ocing. I had an i7 920 with an Asus p6t mobo for the last 2 years. TO overclock, I just set the ai-tweaker in bios to XMP, changed the frequency to 200, and the Ram to 1866. These were the only things i changed, and I was getting a 4.02ghz stable CPU speed. I left it that way for 2 years and never had any issues with stability. Recently, I switched to the older i7 965, which was the original "extreme edition" $1000 CPU when the i7s first came out. I figured since its a thousand bucks, OCing would be much easier, especially with an unlocked multuplier. I set the multiplier to 28, and the frequency to 145. I know it should be able to OC much higher than my 920, but i figured 4ghz is plenty, and going to 4ghz on a 965 is less of a jump than on a 920, so I figured my temps would be much improved. Bottom line, I have tried multiple combinations of multipliers and frequencies and I cannot get this CPU to overclock at all. It either freezes on start up, or crashed the second I load anyhting in windows. Can someone please just tell me exactly what numbers to punch in to Bios for voltage, frequencies, etc? Ive looked at all the overclocking guides but they just explain the general concept. I literally want a step by step walkthru of exactly what to type into Bios for a 4.0 - 4.5 ghz OC, without having to do any testing and thinking or trial and error. Can anyone please help me with this? Just tell me what I need to punch in.

Here are my hardware specs:

Mobo - Asus P6T (regular, not the deluxe or deluxe v2)
Cpu - Core i7 965 Extreme
Ram - 6 gigs Corsair (tri-channel for socket 1366)
Video - Geforce GTX 580 Superclocked Edition (eVGA)
HDD - Boot drive - 60 gig Intel SSD - Storage Drives - 3 1.5 TB WD Caviar Green Drives (no raid)
PSU - 1000 Watt Corsair