Suggestions on i7 build for a first time builder please

crewsro

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2009
I’ve never built a computer before but I’m down for the challenge. I need a new computer and I’ve decided to try and build one myself because I don’t want to be stuck with a PC that is minimally upgradeable near the end of its life. I figured with DDR3 and core i7 so readily available and fairly inexpensive, now’s the best time to invest and since it’s so fresh, I should be able to extend my pc’s shelf-life much longer than before. I want a machine that will handle most video games I throw it. I currently don’t play too many PC games, I’m a console gamer but hopefully this new build will change my mind. I’d also like it to be able to handle all my home theater needs. One day I’d like a digital library of music and movies. I don’t do much on my computer currently but that doesn’t mean I don’t want a powerhouse. Just like everyone else, I want to own the fastest computer EVER!!! I’m no expert when it comes to computers. I probably just know enough to do more harm than good, but I’m learning. This is just kind of a hobby for me. I do know exponentially more than any of my friends, including my local Geek Squad, so I don’t have anyone to discuss my new build with. That being said, I really need your help, please. Any advice, recommendations or comments are welcomed. I’m so ready to get those parts in the mail and boot up for the first time

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Soon, I would have bought it last week if I knew what I was doing BUDGET RANGE: Around $1500, but willing to go higher, I just don’t want to spend a bunch of money where I don’t have too.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Surfing the web, gaming, home theater pc, streaming movies

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor (I was planning on using my Panasonic 52” PZ800U as my monitor), I have a Logitech wireless keyboard w/mousepad

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I’ve been looking at tigerdirect and newegg