Crucial SSD's, RAID 0, TRIM support

Alminar

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2011
Hey guys,

I am only a novice when it comes to knowledge of computer hardware. I have purchased several components for a system I am building and I have a question about SSD's in RAID 0. There is a ton of information out there on this very topic, but all the information I could find was quite dated. (2009 was the most recent I could find).

I understand that back in 2009, TRIM command was unavailable to SSD's in RAID 0 and so putting the drives in that configuration was discouraged.

I have purchased 2 Crucial 128gb C300 SSD's that I plan to install into a Gigabyte.Assassin motherboard. I also will be putting in a 1TB WD Caviar black drive for storage.

I plan on putting my SSD's in a RAID 0 configuration. I plan on using the built in RAID controller of the motherboard as the reviews for the controller was quite good so I figured I didn't need to spend the extra money on a separate controller card.

Anyways, back to my question, I couldn't find any recent information to determine if putting SSD's in RAID 0 on modern motherboards with Windows 7 64bit professional now support the TRIM command? If it doesn't support TRIM, is the Garbage Collection functions better these days?

I am not concerned about drive failure or losing all the data on both drives, as I will be keeping my important stuff on my storage drive. So if something goes awry with one of the SSD's I dont mind wiping them and starting over.

So, overall, I am looking for information about the TRIM command, and ultimately, is it recommended to put SSD's in RAID 0 configuration these days, or should I just keep them as seperate drives?

Thanks in advance, and I do apologize if this topic has been addressed recently, but I couldn't find it.

Dave

Solution