Help with OC Athlon 440

guner7

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2007
Hello,

If this is the wrong section I was in, admin please move it to the appropriate area as I really can't find and not sure where to post this question.

I am very new to OC and this system as well is my very first build.
Athlon x3 440, M4N68T-M V2, 4GB corsair DDR3, window 7 64bit.

I've read through the guide here, http://www.overclock.net/amd-cpus/10...-friendly.html, and was trying to OC my cpu bit by bit.

It is fine for me to hit 220Mhz ref clock with cpu multi x15, NB multi x9 and Ram 553Mhz. (not sure as well if it was a correct way to do so). But when I reach 230 MHZ, it will fail log into windows. Time to increase the vcore? My bios didn't show what is the current vcore, it was 'Auto' all the time. CPUz show it was 1.128 in idle, but will bump to 1.46 under Prime95 testing. So how should I raise the vcore actually? Was the fail boot into window has something to do with Ram stuff?

FYI, I'd raise the vcore by 0.025 at a time when it refuse boot into windows, but it remain faulty even the vcore reach 1.45. I afraid I'll eventually damage the cpu before I know what I'm doing, and do it right.

Can please someone help me with this OC? I may not push this OC too hard just enough for me to learn something new.

Thanks.

Solution