P5N-E and Dual 9600 GT sli failure

EVLW8S4NO1

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2009
Hello,

I have been battling with my SLI for almost 3 months now. No matter what I do, it seems I am unable to get ANY game to run in SLI without the monitor starting to flicker and then my system freezes up, I have to hold the power button in until the system reboots. Before I continue here are my system specs:

Intel Quadcore Q6600 2.4
Kingston DDR2 8 gigs 667 ( used what the manual said to use PC2-something, 6 months old)
P5N-E SLI/ 650i
dual Pny Gforce 9600 GT 512 mg DDR3 (3 months old)
Atec Blackwidow pc gaming 850 watts SLI/ATI cert PSU (3 months old)
Windows Vista Buiseness x64 bit (just installed as of 8/16/09)
Western Digital 1TB SATA (3 months old)
2 DVD/Burners
5 USB 2.0 devices (not always active)
Logitac wireless K/B with a logitec USB gaming mouse
22 inch Veiwsonic DVI monitor

I am pretty sure thaty is what everyone will want to know about the system.

Games played:
CoD4, Guild Wars, Planet Side, FEAR and FEAR E.P. Battle Field 2 and 2142.

Other programs installed: Ventrilo client. No DVD burning or movie veiwing program other then what came with windows. NO OTHER SOFTWARE at this time. This is strictly for gaming

I have installed ALL updates for the system (BIOS included) hardware and software (including games)

Fresh OS install, each Vcard was isntaleld 1 at time, setting are set in the BIOS, card is switch from single to dual Vcards and SLI was said to be active in both Windows pop up and in Nvidia control pannel. There is no sound card installed ATM but I use Sound Blaster X-fi gaming. I took it out because i heard there were issues with the sound cards and SLI, I removed the sound card before the last OS install.

I have switch memory sticks around and removed each one to check..the memory has been used for about 6 months now with no issues.