Sign in with
Your question

First time buying non-stock cooler

Last response: in Components
October 26, 2009 10:28:06 AM

Hi there,

I successfully built my first PC a few months back and everything has been running fine until recently. After a few pokes here 'n' there I realised that the CPU temp was getting stupidly high on a regular basis.

I mainly use my PC for graphics related work, but I guess it also doubles as my 'media-centre'... basically it's generally running a few apps at once. I never use it for gaming though.

I'm looking to get a new CPU fan/heatsink or possibly an all in one liquid cooling system, but as it's my first time I'm not too sure what to go for.

It doesn't have to be super quiet, but as I use my machine on a very frequent basis, I'd like it to be relatively unobtrusive - however I occasionally have to render 3D and video for sustained periods and so I can put up with a small turbine when absolutely necessary. I'd consider buying either a manual fan-speed adjuster or letting it sort itself out - whatever is deemed most effective.

And price-wise, I'll pay for whatever gets the job done. Unless we're talking hundreds.

Chris
October 26, 2009 10:40:20 AM

Frosty Tech is widely regarded as the best place for HSF reviews and benchmarks and would be a good place to start comparing.

What socket are you running?

http://www.frostytech.com/
October 26, 2009 10:45:06 AM

It's a Q9550 processor, so a 775 I believe?

I've had a look on a couple of review sites - although admittedly not Frostytech - but not managed to find something that closely fits my requirements. Maybe I'm being too specific.
Related resources
October 26, 2009 10:51:03 AM

A few pokes here and there? define pokes please.

Have you attempted overclocking your cpu?

What temps is it running at idle? Full load?

What is the average room temperature where your pc is running.

If you have not overclocked your system you have no real need for an aftermarket cpu cooler.