Sign in with
Your question

I know its been beaten to death: phenom ii 955 vs i5 gaming

Last response: in CPUs
October 26, 2009 8:52:28 PM

Ive been following this forum for a while now but this is my first post. Out of all the sites i check for benchies this site seems to have the most active and tech say community
Im a tech junky using an old pentium 4 with an hd4650 (sadly the card is bottlenecked) and im looking to build a new rig very soon.

Unfortunately im not currently in the us and do not have access to any online retailers so im basically stuck with gigabyte (a great company) and several other bits and pieces from other companies, for parts. Ive got all the basics down, 4gb ddr3 ram 1tb samsung hdd, etc, and an hd5850 (or 5870 if price goes down). Basically im on a somewhat tight budget and the choice comes down to the 955( on the 790xt chipset as i dont plan to crossfire) or the i5. in game benchmarks they seem about equal but i also work with autocad and SAP2000 (civil engineering software, fairly cpu intensive) and was wondering if the 150$ difference was justified between the 955 and i5 (955 being cheaper where i live due to it being an older cpu) and which one was more future proof. sorry for my rambling and i would appreciate any comments the community has.
October 26, 2009 9:44:26 PM

Uhh.... I'd say it's pretty much your call but I'd go with the 955 simply because the AM3 will have a 6core on it in the future and with intel you never know about platform longevity. Plus, ya know... !!SuPpOrT aMd!! <-- sorry thats the hippy protester in me :D 
m
l
a c 203 à CPUs
October 26, 2009 10:06:20 PM

If you earn a living working with Autocad and SAP2000 I'd say the i5 750 is probably worth the extra cost. The TurboMode option will work its magic on the single threaded parts of AutoCad and SAP2000.
If this is a personal system and you're not earning money with it - you can easily go with the less expensive option.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs